tastefulnessblog's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

All I Want For Christmas Is You…

Leave a comment

xmas-tree

Merry Christmas Eve!! This is one of my favorite days of the year. “Why?” you ask? Well, we have family holiday traditions that commence today! We spend the day relaxing around the house while preparing for the activities to come in the next day. As the evening rolls around, everyone gets ready for church and the annual Christmas party. One of our family-friends host a holiday party every year on Christmas Eve. It is a great time to catch up with people from my hometown that I normally don’t get the opportunity to see. After the party, we head home to open one present. Each year we get to open one present the night before. I think it is partially because when we were younger we had little-to-no patience. It was the only way to get us to stop asking about what was under the tree. Opening just one present calmed the nerves and allowed us to spread out the holiday cheer of opening presents for just one more day. After presents are open we all go into my dad’s office and read ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas.” Possibly one of my favorite books ever. My momma reads it every year but I remember the one year when I was old enough to read the entire book. Big deal in a child’s life. But now that all of us are old enough and have read books longer than twelve pages, momma continues the tradition of reading the book.

Does anyone else have Christmas Eve traditions? I would love to hear your Christmas Eve/Day plans! Have a wonderful holiday!!

xx, MEB

Leave a Reply

